Fulvic Acid in Shilajit: 8 Brand Labels Compared, and the Honest Range

Short answer: purified shilajit generally contains about 15 to 20% fulvic acid when measured by a method that isolates fulvic acid specifically. Labels claiming 60 to 80% are usually counting other organic material as fulvic acid, or describing humic substances in total. A percentage only means something when the label says how it was measured, and when it states the milligrams of extract so you can work out the milligrams of fulvic acid.

Put three shilajit products next to each other and compare the fulvic acid percentage in shilajit extract as each one states it. One says 20%. One says 60%. One says 80%. Same substance, same mountains, same marketing language about purity.

They cannot all be right. And the reason they disagree is not that one product is four times better than another — it is that there is no single agreed way to measure fulvic acid, and the number you get depends almost entirely on which test was run.

This is the most misleading number in the category, and once you understand how it is produced, most of the labels stop being confusing and start being readable.

Shilajit vs fulvic acid: what is the difference?

They are not alternatives to each other. Fulvic acid is one component of shilajit, not a separate ingredient that competes with it.

Shilajit is a whole resin. Alongside fulvic acid it contains humic acids, dibenzo-alpha-pyrones, small amounts of other organic compounds, and a long list of minerals. Fulvic acid is the marker that extracts are usually standardized on, because it is the largest and best-characterized organic fraction, which is why it ends up on the label.

Stand-alone "fulvic acid" supplements are a different product. Most are not made from shilajit at all; they are extracted from humate deposits such as leonardite or peat. That makes them chemically related but not interchangeable.

The practical point is the research. The human trials people cite for energy and strength used purified shilajit, at doses around 250 to 500 mg a day. None of them used isolated fulvic acid. If those trials are the reason you are buying, the thing they studied is shilajit.

There is no supplement standard for this

Here is the thing almost nobody says out loud: the test the shilajit industry has settled on was not written for supplements.

ISO 19822:2018 is titled "Fertilizers and soil conditioners — Determination of humic and hydrophobic fulvic acids concentrations in fertilizer materials." It was developed for the fertilizer trade, where humic and fulvic content is a commercial specification. The supplement industry adopted it because it is rigorous and because nothing better existed for this material.

That borrowing is not a scandal. It is a reasonable use of a good method. But it is worth knowing that when a brand says "tested to ISO standard," they are citing a soil-conditioner specification, not a dietary supplement one.

What that method actually counts

ISO 19822 separates the sample and weighs what is left — a gravimetric approach. Crucially, it isolates hydrophobic fulvic acids specifically, and deliberately excludes mineral salts, polysaccharides, amino sugars, amino acids, proteins and carbohydrates.

That exclusion list is the whole story. Shilajit is a complex organic material full of exactly those compounds. A method that carefully removes them before weighing will return a much smaller number than one that does not.

So a low number under ISO 19822 does not mean a weak product. It means the things that are not fulvic acid were not counted as fulvic acid.

How the big numbers get made

The percentages that run to 60% and 80% generally come from a different class of test — colorimetric assays, titrations, or total organic carbon measurements.

These are cheaper and faster. They are also non-specific: they measure a broad property of the sample rather than isolating one compound. Published comparisons have found substantial overestimation from colorimetric and similar procedures versus classical separation methods, because non-fulvic organic matter gets counted as though it were the active compound.

A brand running one of these tests is not necessarily lying. They may be reporting exactly what their lab told them. But the number describes "organic material that responds to this assay," not "fulvic acid," and those are very different quantities being printed in the same font on the same shelf.

There is genuine professional disagreement here too — some laboratories argue HPLC is the better reference for finished products, since gravimetric methods were designed for simpler raw materials. That disagreement is real, and it is part of why a bare percentage on a label means so little without the method attached.

What the independent testing found

In September 2024, ConsumerLab — an independent testing organization that buys products off the shelf and analyzes them — published results from testing shilajit supplements. They reported fulvic acid content ranging from roughly 6.9mg to 2,206mg per serving across the products they examined.

That is not a small spread. It is a category where two products sitting beside each other can differ by orders of magnitude in the thing they are both ostensibly sold for, and a shopper reading labels has almost no way to tell.

This is ConsumerLab's published finding, reported here as they published it. We think it is the single most useful piece of evidence a shilajit buyer can have.

What eight shilajit labels actually say

We read the product pages of eight shilajit products sold in the United States on September 22, 2026, including our own, and recorded exactly what each one prints about dose and fulvic acid. These are label claims as written by each brand, and they may change.

Product Form Shilajit per serving, as printed Fulvic acid claim
PowerNutrient Shilajit Gummies Gummy 500 mg purified extract 20%, standardized
Sunday Scaries Shilajit Gummies Gummy 300 mg of a 20:1 extract Mentioned, no number
BetterAlt Pure Himalayan Shilajit Gummies Gummy 400 mg resin 75%
Just Nutrients Shilajit Gummies Gummy 1,000 mg of a 10:1 extract, printed as "10,000 mg" on the front Not stated
Toniiq Shilajit Gummies Gummy 300 mg of a 20:1 concentrate 50%, standardized
Cymbiotika Mineral Shilajit (with Pürblack) Resin 0.5 g Mentioned, no number
Pürblack Shilajit Resin Resin 0.5 g Mentioned, no number
Natural Shilajit Resin Resin 300 mg About 15 to 35%

Three things stand out.

The percentages are not comparable. A 75% on one bottle and a 20% on another cannot be lined up, because no label on the list says which method produced its figure.

Half the labels give no fulvic number at all. Three mention fulvic acid as a selling point without a figure, and one does not mention it.

The biggest number on a front label is an extract-ratio equivalent. The "10,000 mg" gummy contains 1,000 mg of extract, which its own Supplement Facts panel states. We explain that arithmetic in Shilajit 500mg vs 4,000mg.

So what is the honest range?

Measured by the ISO 19822 gravimetric method, authentic purified shilajit generally contains somewhere in the region of 15% to 20% fulvic acid.

Which means that when a label claims 70% or 80%, one of a few things is happening:

  • A non-specific test counted a lot of non-fulvic material, or
  • The material has been spiked with cheap industrial humates to lift the number, or
  • The percentage refers to something other than what the buyer assumes — humic substances in total, for example, rather than fulvic acid specifically.

None of those makes a better product. Two of them make a worse one.

Why we print 20%

Our shilajit extract is standardized to 20% fulvic acid. At a 500mg serving, that is 100mg of fulvic acid per two-gummy serving — a number we can state plainly because both figures come from the same place.

We are aware 20% looks unimpressive next to an 80% on a competitor's bottle. That is precisely the problem with the metric, and it is why we would rather explain it than compete on it. Twenty percent is the standardized fulvic acid content of our own extract, and it sits inside the range that fulvic-specific methods return. Going higher would mean either changing the method or changing what is in the jar, and neither of those is a product improvement.

The same logic applies to dose numbers, which get inflated a different way — through extract ratios rather than test methods. We touch on that in Shilajit Gummies vs Resin, which also covers why a measured dose is worth more than a concentrated one.

How to read a fulvic acid claim

Three checks, all of which you can do from the product page:

  1. Is a percentage stated at all? "Rich in fulvic acid" is a description, not a quantity.
  2. Is it a percentage of fulvic acid, or of something broader? "Humic and fulvic substances" or "humic complex" is a larger category and will always read higher.
  3. Can you work out the milligrams? Multiply the extract per serving by the percentage. 500 mg at 20% is 100 mg of fulvic acid. A 75% claim on a label that does not state the extract amount gives you nothing to multiply.

None of this tells you whether a product is clean, which is a separate question about purification. We cover that in How to Tell If Shilajit Is Real or Fake.

The honest limits of all this

Two things we are not claiming.

First, we are not claiming a specific fulvic acid percentage produces a specific effect in your body. The human research on shilajit is limited, most trials are small — we go through what it actually shows here — and none of it supports a clean dose-response story about fulvic acid content. What the percentage tells you is what you are buying, not what it will do.

Second, we are not claiming ISO 19822 is the final word. It is a fertilizer standard doing supplement work, and reasonable analysts disagree about whether it is the right tool for a finished product. It is still the most specific widely recognized method, and a method that excludes non-fulvic material is the right kind of conservative for a number printed on a label.

What we are claiming is narrower and, we think, harder to argue with: a fulvic acid percentage without a method attached is not information. Ask how it was measured. The answer tells you more than the number does.

Questions people actually ask

Is shilajit the same as fulvic acid?

No. Fulvic acid is one part of shilajit, usually around 15 to 20% of a purified extract. The rest is humic acids, other organic compounds and minerals. Shilajit is standardized on fulvic acid because it is the main measurable fraction, not because it is the only thing in it.

Does shilajit contain fulvic acid?

Yes. Fulvic acid is the largest organic fraction in purified shilajit and the marker most extracts are standardized on.

How much fulvic acid is in shilajit?

Purified shilajit generally measures about 15 to 20% by a method that isolates fulvic acid. Labels above roughly 50% are usually counting other organic matter or describing humic substances in total.

How much fulvic acid is in a 500 mg serving?

Multiply the extract by the percentage. A 500 mg serving standardized to 20% contains about 100 mg of fulvic acid.

Is a higher fulvic acid percentage better?

Not on its own. A higher printed number usually reflects a looser measuring method, not more of the compound. Compare products only when they state the same method.

No. There is no established daily intake for fulvic acid. The human trials on shilajit dosed the whole extract, typically 250 to 500 mg a day, rather than fulvic acid itself.

Sources

  • International Organization for Standardization. ISO 19822:2018, Fertilizers and soil conditioners: determination of humic and hydrophobic fulvic acids concentrations in fertilizer materials. iso.org
  • ConsumerLab. Shilajit supplements found to contain high amounts of fulvic acid. September 26, 2024. consumerlab.com
  • Carrasco-Gallardo C, et al. Shilajit: a natural phytocomplex with potential procognitive activity. Int J Alzheimers Dis. 2012. PMC3296184
  • Stohs SJ. Safety and efficacy of shilajit (mumie, moomiyo). Phytother Res. 2014. PubMed 23733436
  • Keller JL, et al. The effects of shilajit supplementation on fatigue-induced decreases in muscular strength and serum hydroxyproline levels. J Int Soc Sports Nutr. 2019. PubMed 30728074

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. This article is general information, not medical advice — talk to your doctor before starting any supplement, particularly if you are pregnant, nursing, taking medication or managing a health condition.